KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Kent County Council held in the Council Chamber, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Thursday, 11 December 2014.

PRESENT: Mr P J Homewood (Chairman) Mr M J Harrison (Vice-Chairman)

Mrs A D Allen, MBE, Mr M J Angell, Mr M Baldock, Mr M A C Balfour, Mr R H Bird, Mr N J Bond, Mr A H T Bowles. Mr D L Brazier, Mr H Birkby, Mrs P Brivio, Mr L Burgess, Mr C W Caller. Mr R E Brookbank. Miss S J Carev. Mr P B Carter, CBE, Mr N J D Chard, Mr I S Chittenden, Mr B E Clark, Mrs P T Cole, Mr G Cooke, Mr G Cowan, Mrs M E Crabtree, Ms C J Cribbon, Mr A D Crowther, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr D S Daley, Mr M C Dance, Mr J A Davies, Mrs T Dean, MBE, Dr M R Eddy, Mr J Elenor, Mrs M Elenor, Mr T Gates. Mr G K Gibbens, Mr R W Gough, Ms A Harrison, Mr P M Hill, OBE, Mr C P D Hoare, Mrs S V Hohler, Mr S Holden, Mr E E C Hotson, Mrs S Howes, Mr A J King, MBE, Mr J A Kite, MBE, Mr S J G Koowaree. Mr R A Latchford, OBE, Mr R L H Long, TD, Mr G Lymer, Mr B E MacDowall, Mr T A Maddison, Mr S C Manion, Mr R A Marsh, Mr M J Northey, Mr P J Oakford, Mr J M Ozog, Mr F McKenna, Mr B Neaves, Mr R J Parry, Mr C R Pearman, Mr L B Ridings, MBE, Mr J E Scholes, Mr W Scobie, Mr T L Shonk, Mr C Simkins, Mr J D Simmonds, MBE, Mr C P Smith, Mr D Smyth, Mrs P A V Stockell, Mr B J Sweetland, Mr A Terry, Mr R Truelove, Mr M J Vye, Mrs J Whittle. Mr J N Wedgbury, Mr M E Whybrow, Mr M A Wickham and Mrs Z Wiltshire

IN ATTENDANCE: Peter Sass (Head of Democratic Services) and Denise Fitch (Democratic Services Manager (Council))

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

54. Apologies for Absence

The Head of Democratic Services reported apologies from Mr D Baker, Mr P Harman, Mr M Heale and Mrs E Rowbotham.

55. Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary Interests or Other Significant Interests

None

56. Appointment of Honorary Aldermen

(1) The Chairman offered a very warm welcome to the meeting to the nominees and their guests:

Mr Bryan Cope and Mrs Sheila Cope Mr Mark Fittock and Mrs Gillian Fittock Mr Tom Mason Dr Tony Robinson; and

Mr Roland Tolputt and Mrs Hilary Tolputt.

(2) The Chairman announced that all five nominees had been regarded by Group Leaders as having given eminent service both to Kent County Council and the people of Kent.

(3) RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY: that the following distinguished former Members of Kent County Council be awarded the status of Honorary Alderman:

Mr Bryan Cope Mr Mark Fittock Mr Tom Mason Dr Tony Robinson Mr Roland Tolputt

(4) The Chairman then presented the newly appointed Honorary Aldermen with their Honorary Aldermen badges and their scrolls.

(5) Dr Robinson responded in suitable terms on behalf of the newly appointed Honorary Aldermen and expressed his thanks for the honours bestowed upon them by the County Council.